PressReleases

|
17 de January de 2014

Klabin reduces CO2 emissions in its plants by 61%

Company also announces the rates achieved in the reduction of water and fuel consumption

Brazil’s biggest paper manufacturer and exporter, Klabin is continually investing in projects to reduce the impact of its operations on the environment. As a result of work performed in all its manufacturing plants, the company has ended recent years with excellent rates.

Between 2004 and 2012, the company reduced Greenhouse Gases (GHG) in emissions of CO² equivalent per ton of paper produced by 61%. The company has also reduced consumption of fuel oil in the last five years. Approximately 57 thousand tons/year have been reduced – or the equivalent of 171 thousand tons less of CO² per year dispersed into the atmosphere.

In water consumption, one of the company’s best rates is at the Otacilio Costa Plant, in Santa Catarina, which in 2013 used less than 28 cubic meters of water for each ton of paper produced. This rate is one of the best for the sector and was achieved after a project to optimize refrigerate the water from the production process was introduced.

About Klabin

Klabin, Brazil’s biggest paper manufacturer and exporter, produces packaging paper and board, corrugated boxes, industrial bags and timber in logs. Founded in 1899, today it has 15 industrial plants in Brazil and one in Argentina. It is organized in three business units: Forestry, Paper (cartonboard and kraft paper) and Converting (corrugated board and industrial bags).

Sustainable Development guides the management of the company, in the pursuit of integrated, responsible growth which combines profitability, social development and environmental commitment. In 2014, for the first timeKlabin will be part of BM&F Bovespa’s Corporate Sustainability Index (ISE). Consequently, it is a signatory to the UN Global Compact and looks for suppliers and business partners who adhere to the same ethical values, transparency and respect for the principles of sustainability.

Information for the Press

Máquina Public Relations
Carlos Moura | (11) 3147-7453 carlos.moura@grupomaquina.com
Tatiana Souza | (11) 3147-7921 tatiana.souza@grupomaquina.com
Fernanda Doniani | (11) 3147-7448 fernanda.doniani@grupomaquina.com

Assessoria de Imprensa

Contato da Imprensa Klabin S.A.

Juliana Onofri | +55 (11) 4871-1466 - juliana.onofri@inpresspni.com.br
Alessandro Abate | +55 (11) 3323-3829 - alessandro.abate@inpresspni.com.br
Alcione Cavalcante | +55 (11) 4871-1473 - alcione.cavalcante@inpresspni.com.br
Giovana Battiferro | +55 (11) 3330-3806 - giovana.battiferro@inpresspni.com.br

Facebook

As histórias inspiradoras de nossos colaboradores refletem a nossa relação de carinho com as árvores. Hoje, no Dia da Árvore, olhamos com orgulho para nossas raízes, com a certeza de que um futuro renovável será construído a partir também do cultivo das árvores que preservamos e plantamos. ❤️ #DiadaÁrvoreKlabin #KlabinTransforma ... Ver MaisVer mais

3 dias atrás  ·  

Visualizar no Facebook

Youtube