PressReleases

|
9 de April de 2014

Klabin Plant in São Leopoldo reuses 64% of its waste

Plant also reduced the amount generated from 2009 to 2013 by 20%

Klabin’s São Leopoldo Plant, in compliance with guidelines laid down by the company for all its plants, achieved benchmark rates in environmental sustainability. The plant reached a level of 64% of reuse of waste arising from the production process and reduced by 20% rejects generated from 2009 to 2013.

To arrive at this result, Klabin invested heavily in employee awareness, with training and lectures, and signed partnerships with other companies. Among the materials which are reused are wood, which enters a reverse logistics loop and serves as fuel, plastic, which goes to recycling cooperatives and sludge from the effluent treatment plant, which is transformed into organic fertilizer. This success reconfirms Klabin’s commitment to the environment, based on the policy of the 3 R’s – Reduce, Reuse and Recycle.

São Leopoldo is an important town for Klabin. The company has been present in the municipality since 1981 and produces corrugated boxes for various sectors of industry. The local production capacity is currently 47 thousand tons/year.

About Klabin

Klabin, Brazil’s biggest paper manufacturer and exporter, produces packaging paper and board, corrugated boxes, industrial sacks and timber in logs. Founded in 1899, today it has 15 industrial plants in Brazil and one in Argentina. It is organized in three business units: Forestry, Paper (cartonboard and kraft paper) and Converting (corrugated board and industrial sacks).

Sustainable Development guides the management of the company, in the pursuit of integrated, responsible growth which combines profitability, social development and environmental commitment. In 2014, for the first timeKlabin will be part of BM&F Bovespa’s Corporate Sustainability Index (ISE). Consequently, it is a signatory to the UN Global Compact and looks for suppliers and business partners who adhere to the same ethical values, transparency and respect for the principles of sustainability.

Information for the press:

Maquina PR Group
Carlos Moura | (11) 3147-7453 carlos.moura@grupomaquina.com
Tatiana Souza | (11) 3147-7921 tatiana.souza@grupomaquina.com
Fernanda Doniani | (11) 3147-7448 fernanda.doniani@grupomaquina.com

Assessoria de Imprensa

Contato da Imprensa Klabin S.A.

Juliana Onofri | +55 (11) 4871-1466 - juliana.onofri@inpresspni.com.br
Alessandro Abate | +55 (11) 3323-3829 - alessandro.abate@inpresspni.com.br
Alcione Cavalcante | +55 (11) 4871-1473 - alcione.cavalcante@inpresspni.com.br
Giovana Battiferro | +55 (11) 3330-3806 - giovana.battiferro@inpresspni.com.br

Facebook

Sabia que somos pioneiros no desenvolvimento e produção de bandejas para transporte, armazenamento e exposição de frutas no Brasil? 😱 Transporte de alimento é coisa séria, por isso, aqui na Klabin, vamos muito além da embalagem. Pois é! Nossa nova linha de embalagens para transporte de frutas, além de lindas 😍, são produzidas com material feito a partir de fibras limpas e sem nenhum contaminante, o que garante a proteção dos alimentos. Além disso, elas são biodegradáveis e totalmente recicláveis, reforçando nosso compromisso com o meio ambiente. 🌳 Estamos sempre pensando em unir praticidade e sustentabilidade para que os alimentos cheguem com qualidade até a sua casa. 😉💚🏠 #MuitoAlémDaEmbalagem #EmbalagensdoFuturo #FuturoRenovável

#PraCegoVer: imagem de caixas com frutas em primeiro plano e ao fundo uma ilustração simulando uma paisagem com natureza. Nela há uma cena com duas pessoas. Uma está com a outra nos ombros tentando alcançar uma maçã e ao fundo outra pessoa andando de bicicleta.
... Ver MaisVer mais

12 horas atrás  ·  

Visualizar no Facebook

Youtube