PressReleases

|
21 de October de 2014

Klabin is working to conserve biodiversity in Parana

The Ecological Park protects endangered native species such as the Puma and the gray Brocket Deer from extinction and provides 7 thousand hectares of native woodlands

Telemaco Borba, 21st of August 2014 – Preservation of biodiversity begins with the day-to-day activities of Klabin. An example of this is the work performed in the Ecological Park, maintained on the Monte Alegre Farm in Parana. Currently the area of the Park protects endangered species, promotes environmental education activities and conducts scientific surveys on forest wildlife.

With 11 thousand hectares, 7 thousand of which are classified as native woodlands, the Ecological Park is home to 200 animals of 50 different species including the Puma, the red Brocket Deer and the Brazilian Tapir. Animals, which are not yet able to return to the wild, are given shelter in the park, where a number of different actions are taken to ensure that the species breed.

The task of breeding in captivity has made significant advances. This year the park commemorated the first natural birth of a baby brocket deer, which is facing great risk of extinction in the region because of loss of habitat and of hunting. This conquest is especially valuable since the species of gray brocket deer bears one offspring per year, the result of approximately seven months of gestation period.

Besides total commitment to breeding in captivity, the Ecological Park also treats animals that have been run over on the roads and highways of the region. Taken for treatment in the veterinary hospital in the park, these animals have a chance to recover.

Established in 1980, the park not only exemplifies the company’s endeavors and concern with conservation of biodiversity in the region but also promotes environmental education among the students from local schools, the company’s employees and the community as a whole.

About Klabin

Klabin, Brazil’s biggest paper manufacturer and exporter, produces packaging paper and board, corrugated boxes, industrial sacks and timber in logs. Founded in 1899, today it has 15 industrial plants in Brazil and one in Argentina. It is organized in three business units: Forestry, Paper (cartonboard, kraft and recycled paper) and Converting (corrugated boxes and industrial sacks).

The company’s entire management is focused on Sustainable Development, in a quest for responsible and integrated growth, which combines profitability, social development and environmental commitment. For the first time, in 2014 Klabin is joining the ISE (Corporate Sustainability Index) of BM&FBovespa. It is also a signatory to the United Nations’ Global Compact and of the National Pact to Eradicate Slave Labor and looks for suppliers and business partners, who subscribe to the same values of ethics, transparency and respect for the principles of sustainability.

Information for the press:

Maquina PR Group
Tacila Marcondes | (11) 3147-7453 tacila.marcondes@grupomaquina.com
Tatiana Souza | (11) 3147-7921 tatiana.souza@grupomaquina.com
Fernanda Doniani | (11) 3147-7448 fernanda.doniani@grupomaquina.com

Assessoria de Imprensa

Contato da Imprensa Klabin S.A.

Juliana Onofri | +55 (11) 4871-1466 - juliana.onofri@inpresspni.com.br
Jordan Fraiberg | +55 (11) 3323-3829 - jordan.fraiberg@inpresspni.com.br
Mayara Brasil | +55 (11) 3323-1629 - mayara.brasil@inpresspni.com.br
Alcione Cavalcante | +55 (11) 4871-1473 - alcione.cavalcante@inpresspni.com.br
Giovana Battiferro | +55 (11) 3330-3806 - giovana.battiferro@inpresspni.com.br

Facebook

Youtube