PressReleases

Social Projects
|
11 de November de 2013

Klabin is included in WWF’s Environmental Performance Report for the first time

The company is highlighted in the survey which selected 25 companies from the global pulp and paper sector

Klabin, the biggest packaging paper manufacturer and exporter in Brazil, is included for the first time in the EPCI (Environmental Paper Company Index) Report, published annually by the WWF. The company recorded an excellent performance in the survey, and achieved a 74.5% approval level. The report appraised the performance of 25 companies from the pulp and paper sector worldwide.

The WWF appraisal analyzed aspects such as the company’s influence on forest ecosystems in the extraction of fiber, gas emissions and water pollution during the production process and the Environmental Management System. Acknowledged as one of the major organizations in global conservation, the WWF is to be found in 100 countries and its supporters number over 5 million.

Klabin’s results are proof of its ongoing concern and endeavor to reduce the environmental impacts of its operations. The goal of the company’s administration, which is focused on sustainable development, is to grow in an integrated manner, in a combination of profitability, social development and environmental commitment.

In 2012, approximately 80% of Klabin’s energy matrix originated from natural, renewable resources – black liquor, biomass, and hydro power. The company invested in the adoption of clean sources to generate energy, which led to a reduction of 61% in Greenhouse Gases (GHG) and lowered the consumption of fuel oil in the last five years by approximately 57,000 tons/year.

About Klabin

Klabin, Brazil’s biggest paper manufacturer and exporter, produces packaging paper and board, corrugated boxes, industrial sacks and timber in logs. Founded in 1899, today it has 15 industrial plants in Brazil and one in Argentina. It is organized in three business units: Forestry, Paper (cartonboard and kraft paper) and Converting (corrugated board and industrial sacks).

Sustainable Development guides the management of the company, in the pursuit of integrated, responsible growth which combines profitability, social development and environmental commitment. Consequently, it is a signatory to the UN Global Compact and looks for suppliers and business partners who adhere to the same ethical values, transparency and respect for the principles of sustainability.

Information for the Press

Máquina Public Relations
Carlos Moura | (11) 3147-7453 carlos.moura@grupomaquina.com
Tatiana Souza | (11) 3147-7921 tatiana.souza@grupomaquina.com
Fernanda Doniani | (11) 3147-7448 fernanda.doniani@grupomaquina.com

Assessoria de Imprensa

Contato da Imprensa Klabin S.A.

Juliana Onofri | +55 (11) 4871-1466 - juliana.onofri@inpresspni.com.br
Alessandro Abate | +55 (11) 3323-3829 - alessandro.abate@inpresspni.com.br
Alcione Cavalcante | +55 (11) 4871-1473 - alcione.cavalcante@inpresspni.com.br
Giovana Battiferro | +55 (11) 3330-3806 - giovana.battiferro@inpresspni.com.br

Facebook

Sabia que somos pioneiros no desenvolvimento e produção de bandejas para transporte, armazenamento e exposição de frutas no Brasil? 😱 Transporte de alimento é coisa séria, por isso, aqui na Klabin, vamos muito além da embalagem. Pois é! Nossa nova linha de embalagens para transporte de frutas, além de lindas 😍, são produzidas com material feito a partir de fibras limpas e sem nenhum contaminante, o que garante a proteção dos alimentos. Além disso, elas são biodegradáveis e totalmente recicláveis, reforçando nosso compromisso com o meio ambiente. 🌳 Estamos sempre pensando em unir praticidade e sustentabilidade para que os alimentos cheguem com qualidade até a sua casa. 😉💚🏠 #MuitoAlémDaEmbalagem #EmbalagensdoFuturo #FuturoRenovável

#PraCegoVer: imagem de caixas com frutas em primeiro plano e ao fundo uma ilustração simulando uma paisagem com natureza. Nela há uma cena com duas pessoas. Uma está com a outra nos ombros tentando alcançar uma maçã e ao fundo outra pessoa andando de bicicleta.
... Ver MaisVer mais

12 horas atrás  ·  

Visualizar no Facebook

Youtube