PressReleases

|
3 de June de 2015

Klabin holds public hearing on construction of the Pulp and Paper Logistics Unit in Paranaguá

Warehouse will have capacity to handle 75,000 tons of pulp per month

Klabin holds public hearing on construction of the Pulp and Paper Logistics Unit in Paranaguá

Warehouse will have capacity to handle 75,000 tons of pulp per month

Paranaguá, June 3, 2015 – Klabin, Brazil’s largest paper producer and exporter, held a public hearing yesterday (June 2) at the Teatro Municipal Rachel Costa in the historic downtown of Paranaguá, Paraná, to present its Neighborhood Impact Study relating to the construction of the Pulp and Paper Logistics Unit.More than 300 people, including Klabin representatives, residents and public officials, attended the event.

At the hearing, residents from the region could clarify their doubts and form their opinion about the project.Construction of this warehouse is part of the plan to improve logistics efficiency under the Puma Project, the new Klabin pulp mill under construction in the city of Ortigueira, Paraná, which will go operational in early 2016.Klabin currently outsources logistics operations in Paranaguá and the new space will enable the company to ship higher volumes of production.Though the warehouse has the capacity to handle 1.5 million tons of pulp per year, it is estimated to handle 75,000 tons per month, for an annual total of 900,000 tons.

The hearing sought to ensure transparency regarding construction of the future warehouse, located a mere five kilometers from the Port of Paranaguá.The location was chosen for its ease in shipping cargo and for the low impact on the local population and the environment, and has already been allocated for similar operations by zoning regulations.The project will maintain the dynamics and current capacity of the railway line, with minimum impact on existing railway lines within city limits.

Hochtief do Brasil will build the warehouse and construction is expected to last between 7 and 9 months.During this phase, approximately 200 jobs will be created and around 100 jobs will be created when the warehouse goes operational.Pulp produced in Ortigueira will reach Paranaguá by rail. It will then be transported from the Logistics Unit to the Port, covering five kilometers by truck.

About Klabin

Klabin, Brazil’s largest paper producer and exporter, is the leading manufacturer of paper and board for packaging, corrugated board packaging, industrial sacks and timber in logs.Founded in 1899, it has 14 industrial units in Brazil and one in Argentina.Klabin is organized into three business units:Forestry, Paper (paperboard, kraft paper and recycled) and Conversion (corrugated board and industrial sacks).

Klabin’s management is entirely oriented towards sustainable development, and pursues integrated and responsible growth that combines profitability, social development and a commitment to the environment.Klabin has been a component of the Corporate Sustainability Index (ISE) of the São Paulo Stock Exchange (BM&FBovespa) since 2014.It is also a signatory to the United Nations Global Compact and the Brazilian Pact to Eradicate Slave Labor, and seeks suppliers and business partners that adopt the same values of ethics, transparency and respect for sustainability principles.
Learn more at www.klabin.com.br

Media Relations – Klabin

In Press Porter Novelli

Vera Aranha – (11) 3046-7714 99360-1451 – vera.aranha@inpresspni.com.br

Renata Victal – (11) 3323-3787 / 99972-2722- renata.victal@inpresspni.com.br

Giovana Savine – (11) 3323-1629 / 97378-9544 giovana.savine@inpresspni.com.br

Assessoria de Imprensa

Contato da Imprensa Klabin S.A.

Juliana Onofri | +55 (11) 4871-1466 - juliana.onofri@inpresspni.com.br
Jordan Fraiberg | +55 (11) 3323-3829 - jordan.fraiberg@inpresspni.com.br
Mayara Brasil | +55 (11) 3323-1629 - mayara.brasil@inpresspni.com.br
Alcione Cavalcante | +55 (11) 4871-1473 - alcione.cavalcante@inpresspni.com.br
Giovana Battiferro | +55 (11) 3330-3806 - giovana.battiferro@inpresspni.com.br

Facebook

Hoje,15 de junho, é o aniversário de Itajaí – SC. 🎉🎁🎈 Estamos com esse pessoal praieiro há bastante tempo e, desde então, desenvolvemos juntos soluções de embalagens de papelão ondulado que viajam o mundo inteiro. 📦🌍 Parabéns para essa cidade linda e para todos os Itajaienses! 👏👏

#PraCegoVer Imagem comemorativa do aniversário de 159 anos da cidade de Itajaí - SC. Há a silhueta de um homem preenchida com uma foto da igreja Matriz do Santíssimo Sacramento e o texto "Parabéns Itajaí! 15 de Junho de 2019. Ficamos felizes em fazer parte da história e do desenvolvimento de Itajaí!". No canto inferior direito, nosso logo Klabin.
... Ver MaisVer mais

2 dias atrás  ·  

Visualizar no Facebook

Youtube