PressReleases

Institutional
|
5 de June de 2013

Klabin holds General Shutdown at Otacilio Costa Plant

This activity is intended to guarantee the proper functioning of the mill

Between the 11th and 20th of June, Klabin’s Otacilio Costa Plant (SC) will be holding its Annual General Shutdown, a compulsory procedure which consists of interrupting paper production and is intended to ensure that all the necessary maintenance for the proper functioning of the mill is carried out with quality and in safety. This is a common procedure in the pulp and paper sector and occurs every year in the company’s plants.

During these ten days, about 50 contracted companies and 1,400 temporary workers will be involved in the General Shutdown. Among the principal activities programmed are inspections of boilers, digesters, power generation and distribution systems and production process controls. This amount of temporary workers requires logistics and infrastructure, involving transportation, lodgings and meals among other items which drive and boost the economy of the town of Otacilio Costa and the region. There are other additional benefits, such as the taxes generated for the municipality and extra movement in hotels, bars, restaurants and stores, as well as the services to assist the workers’ stay in the town.

During the days of the Shutdown, variations in odors and noise coming from the mill – especially on the 11th and 12th, at the beginning of the Shutdown, and on the 19th and the 20th, as machines start operating again – may be noticed by the community. It is important to note that these alterations cause no harm to people’s health nor to the environment.

As of this year, Klabin will have an exclusive channel available to attend the community which will function 24 hours a day. In the case of doubts concerning the environment, the community can get in touch with the company via the telephone number 0800 728 0607.

About Klabin

Klabin, Brazil’s biggest paper manufacturer and exporter, produces packaging paper and board, corrugated boxes, industrial bags and timber in logs. Founded in 1899, today it has 15 industrial plants in Brazil and one in Argentina. It is organized in three business units: Forestry, Paper (cartonboard and kraft paper) and Converting (corrugated board and industrial bags).

Sustainable Development guides the management of the company, in the pursuit of integrated, responsible growth which combines profitability, social development and environmental commitment. Consequently, it is a signatory to the UN Global Compact and looks for suppliers and business partners who adhere to the same ethical values, transparency and respect for the principles of sustainability.

Information for the Press

Máquina Public Relations
Carlos Moura – 11 3147 7453 – carlos.moura@grupomaquina.com
Tatiana Souza – 11 3147 7921 – tatiana.souza@grupomaquina.com
André Mascarenhas – 11 3147 7391 – andre.mascarenhas@grupomaquina.com

Assessoria de Imprensa

Contato da Imprensa Klabin S.A.

Juliana Onofri | +55 (11) 4871-1466 - juliana.onofri@inpresspni.com.br
Jordan Fraiberg | +55 (11) 3323-3829 - jordan.fraiberg@inpresspni.com.br
Mayara Brasil | +55 (11) 3323-1629 - mayara.brasil@inpresspni.com.br
Alcione Cavalcante | +55 (11) 4871-1473 - alcione.cavalcante@inpresspni.com.br
Giovana Battiferro | +55 (11) 3330-3806 - giovana.battiferro@inpresspni.com.br

Facebook

Youtube